Christmas Challenge with Amy from Willowcurves

Salvos_Stores_GuestBlogAmy_Banner_20151118_001

We handed over the reigns to one of our favourite thrifted fashion bloggers Amy from Willowcurves.

When Salvos Stores approached me to take part in their Six Week Christmas Advent project by styling a Christmas party outfit from op-shopped items, I knew it was a match made in heaven. It’s great to remember Salvos Stores when you’re looking for fancy clothes, not just fancy dress. So here’s my fancy op-shopped Christmas party outfit! Perfect for cocktails, dinner and dancing the night away.

Christmas is the season for giving, and also the season for get-togethers – not least of which the inevitable end of year work Christmas party. Whether you have a fun theme, something low key casual or a fancier event there will be something to suit at your local Salvos Store.IMG_3172.JPG

 

I decided to take a more cocktail approach to this challenge and the moment I saw this beautiful blue silk dress at Salvos Stores Kew I just knew that I would build my outfit around it. I’ve been on a bit of a blue kick since changing my hair to blue a few weeks ago! The flow and asymmetrical shape of this dress is just breathtaking. The flowing fabric can easily accommodate any festive excess, no shape wear required! And with a price tag of just $15.25 for a pure silk dress how could I refuse? Luckily the Salvos Stores Six Week Christmas Advent project was already in full swing and because I bought over $20 of clothing I got a further 20% off. For details on the current offer check the Facebook page.

IMG_3165.JPGI added some delicate heels with pops of orange and pink to compliment the bold sapphire blue dress and kept it simple with a vintage black clutch and mixed metal accessories. Simple makeup and a sassy pose finish off the look.

My top 3 tips for opshopping, be it for an upcoming Christmas party or any occasion, are:

  1. Don’t give up! Those racks hold treasure just waiting to be found
  2. Don’t limit yourself by the number on the tag. Sizes vary (especially with vintage), so get to know the shapes and fabrics that work well for you.
  3. Try everything on. Always. Even if you think it is a no brainer. Try on things that don’t have appeal on the hanger, or that you’re not sure about. Some of the best treasures I’ve found I almost overlooked.

IMG_3164.JPG

Dress: Willow (silk) $15.25 (with 20% off) at Salvos Stores Kew

Shoes: Lipstik $15.25 at Salvos Stores Abbotsford

Clutch: Vintage $6.25 at Salvos Stores Ballarat

Amy

Leave a Reply

