A day in the life of the Salvos Stores CEO’s personal assistant

Below are details of an average working day as Allen’s personal assistant. As you can see, things can be quite hectic as the personal assistant for the CEO of one of Australia’s largest not for profits!

7.30am – Arrive at the office, set up Allen’s desk ready for his day ahead.

7.35am – Allen arrives, get Allen’s coffee (the most important job of the morning!)

7.45am – Check emails and respond to the 20-30 that have arrived overnight.

8.30am – Compile today’s to do list (bringing the items that did not get done yesterday onto today’s list!)

8.45am- Check phone messages and respond accordingly.

9.00am – Three more emails come through that need to be actioned today – Redo to do list.

9.30am – Need to call Sean in WA, realize it is 6.30am there and this will have to wait.

10.00am – The flow of staff needing Allen’s signature starts, I start the signing pile, this will save some time if Allen signs everything at one time later in the day.

10.30am – Realise I have not worked on one item from the to do list yet!

10.45am – Four people arrive at my desk all wanting to see Allen now! I find time in Allen’s calendar for everyone.

11.00am – Its conference time soon so I start to work on the accommodation lists. This involves chasing up all the forms which have not been returned and then allocating all staff with the person they have elected to share with.

12.00pm – An issue has come up and a staff member needs flights and accommodation booked so they can travel in two days time!

12.30pm – Lunch time. Sometimes eaten at my desk other times in the tea room which usually involves a few laughs with the HR team.

1.00pm – Back to the accommodation lists – Four different staff would like to share with one particular person (popular staff member); this is not going to work!

1.20pm – More emails arrive with items to be added to the to do list.

1.30pm – More forms and invoices arrive for Allen to sign.

2.00pm – My head is spinning with names and room numbers, might be time to check that to do list again.

2.15pm – A customer has called me to make a complaint, it takes a lot of time to hear the complaint and then reason with the customer and explain on behalf of Salvos Stores.

2.40pm – Go to the bathroom and discover three people have slipped past my desk and are standing at Allen’s door all wanting to see him now!

2.45pm – Remember I needed to call Sean from this morning.

3.00pm – Two emails arrive and staff have decided they would like to change the person they are sharing with at conference, this will involve rejigging all of the work I have done earlier.

3.30pm – Finally begin the first item on my to do list.

4.00pm – With one item on my to do list completed and some conference work completed it has been a successful day!

4.30pm – Time to drive home, usually involving the running of tomorrow’s to do list through my head.

5.00pm – Home finally, usually have a quick look at my emails to make sure nothing important has popped up while I was away from my computer. Also send myself emails because I have remembered extra items that should be on the ever growing to do list.

– Posted by Michelle

Leave a Reply

